Community Indicators for Your Community

Real, lasting community change is built around knowing where you are, where you want to be, and whether your efforts are making a difference. Indicators are a necessary ingredient for sustainable change. And the process of selecting community indicators -- who chooses, how they choose, what they choose -- is as important as the data you select.

The Jacksonville Community Council (JCCI) understands indicators and community change, with more than 25 years of producing the annual Quality of Life Progress Report for Jacksonville and the Northeast Florida region, and two decades of helping other communities develop their own sustainable indicators projects. JCCI consultants give you the information you need to measure progress, identify priorities for action, and assess results.

I'd like to talk with you personally about how we can help. E-mail me at
ben@jcci.org, call (904) 396-3052, or visit CommunityWorks for more information. From San Antonio to Siberia, we're ready and willing to assist.


Wednesday, July 25, 2007

Using DataPlace To Make Your Case

Tuesday, July 31 at 2 p.m. ET (1 p.m. CT/noon MT/11 a.m. PT), DataPlace will host an online chat. Their announcement follows:

This month's DataPlace demonstration will combine an overview of the Web site's rich functionality with "real world" examples of how agencies can make the most productive use of it.

Join Bill Talcott, Associate Director of Research and Programs for KnowledgePlex for this discussion of DataPlace's free, interactive GIS mapping features. Learn how to show funders and stakeholders where the greatest needs for your services lie and how to demonstrate where you've had the most impact over time.

Specifics include:

  • Putting mapping and indicators to work for you
  • Transference of knowledge and data-sharing amongst colleagues
  • Using Groups to collaborate and "continue the discussion"

For more information or to join the discussion, click here.

0 comments:

Post a Comment